Discover Portugal by Motorhome
In the remaining territory and in the absence of municipal regulations for the activity, motor caravans approved by the IMT - Institute for Mobility and Transport may stay overnight for a maximum period of 48 hours in the same municipality (except in places where overnight stays of motor caravans or similar are expressly authorised for a longer period).

You should also show the greatest civic awareness for the community that welcomes you, and for nature, respecting the space of others, so don’t make too much noise, and do leave the site as you found it.
Camping and Caravanning Sites
For camping you’ll find a huge network of Camping and Caravanning sites spread all around the country, and equipped with all the facilities and services you need during your stay. Here you can search by region and locality.

How to dicover Portugal by motorhome: Travel Rumors

Travelling to Portugal by motorhome: CamperStop

For specific information about the Algarve region please visit: Autocaravanismo Algarve

Service Areas for motorhomes
There are motorhome service areas spread around the country, to support you during your trip. They have an overnight stay area (limited to 72 hours) and service stations with facilities that include drinking water supply point(s), and places to dump dirty water and the waste from chemical toilets, as well as solid waste. These areas could also have electricity power points for charging the batteries of camper vans and motorhomes.

List of service areas where motorhomes have infrastructure and services that will provide full support during your stay. See map and listing below:

Localidade Distrito Tipo Coordenadas GPS
Abrantes Santarém Municipal N 39º 27´12" W 08º 11´26"
Abrantes - Intermarché  Santarém  Private  N 39º 28´27" W 08º 11´31"
Alcácer do Sal (Intermarché)   Setúbal Private   N 38º 22´52'' W 08º 50´55''
 Alcoutim  Faro Municipal N 37º 28´30" W 07º 28´29"
 Alenquer Lisboa Private N 39º 05´90" W 09º 02´78"
Alfândega da Fé Bragança  Municipal   N 41º 20´37" W 06º 57´35"
 Alferce  Faro  Municipal N 37º 20´05" W 08º 29´21"
 Almeida  Guarda  Municipal  N 40º 43´73" W 06º 54´11"
 Angeiras Orbitur  Porto  Camping Park  N 41º 16´01" W 08º 43´11"
 Arronches  Portalegre  Municipal N 39º 07´03" W 07º 17´10"
 Barcelos (Intermarché)  Braga Private   N 41º 32´47" W 08º 37´14"
 Batalha  Leiria  Municipal  N 39º 39´41" W 08º 49´31"
 Benquerença  Castelo Branco  Municipal N 40º 13´46"  W 07º 13´16"
 Caldas da Rainha (Intermarché)  Leiria  Private  N 39º 24´18" W 09º 09´07"
 Caminha Orbitur  Viana do Castelo  Camping Park  N 41º 07´29" W 08º 39´59"
 Canidelo Orbitur  Porto  Camping Park  N 41º 52´00" W 08º 51´30"
 Castelo Branco  Castelo Branco  Camping Park N 39º 51´29" W 07º 29´36"
 Castelo Branco (Intermarché) Castelo Branco Private  N 39º 48´31" W 07º 31´28"
 Castro Marim  Faro  Municipal N 37º 13´10"  W  07º 26´39"
Cerva Vila Real Municipal N 41º 28´12" W 07º 50´56"
Cinfães do Douro - Mourilhe Viseu Camping Park N 41 05´00"  W 08º 07´30" 
 Costa da Caparica Orbitur  Setúbal  Camping Park N 38º 39´14" W 09º 14´18"
 Costa de Lavos (Praia)  Coimbra  Private N 40º 05´16" W 08º 52´25"
 Entroncamento  Santarém  Municipal  N 39º 28´59" W 08º 28´02"
 Ericeira (Intermarché)  Lisboa  Private  N 38º 57´59" W 09 24´29" 
 Estarreja  Aveiro  Municipal N 40º 45´14" W 08º 33´58"
 Estremoz (Intermarché)  Évora  Private  N 38º 50´49" W 07º 34´54"
 Évora Orbitur  Évora  Camping Park  N 38º 33´27" W 07º 55´35"
 Figueira - Sagres  Faro  Private  N 37º 04´22" W 08º 50´44"
 Figueira da Foz - Gala Orbitur  Coimbra  Camping Park  N 39º 25´51" W 09º 12´04"
 Foz do Arelho Orbitur  Leiria  Camping Park  N 37º 25´51" W 09º 12´04"
Fratel   Castelo Branco  Municipal  N 39º 37´57" W 07º 44´49"
 Gafanha da Nazaré (Intermarché)  Aveiro  Private  N 40º 37´37" W 08º 43´19" 
 Golegã (Intermarché)  Santarém  Private  N 39º 24´43" W 08º 29´14" 
 Guilhufe  Porto  Municipal N 41º 11´43" W 08º 18´56"
 Guincho Orbitur  Lisboa  Camping Park N 38º 43´18" W 09º 27´59"
 Izeda  Bragança  Municipal  N 41º 34´03" W 06º 43´24"
 Lagos  Faro  Municipal  N 37º 06´57" W 08º 40´44" 
 Lagos (Estação BP)  Faro  Private  N 37º 07´12" W 08º 40´24" 
 Lordelo  Porto  Municipal  N 41º 14´05" W 08º 24´41" 
 Mação  Santarém  Municipal  N 39º 33´25" W 07º 59´35"
 Macedo de Cavaleiros  Bragança  Municipal  N 41º 35´00" W 06º 53´58"
 Madalena Orbitur  Porto  Camping Park  N 41º 10´75" W 08º 65´55"
 Mafra (Intermarché)  Lisboa  Private  N 38º 55´57" W 09º 20´06" 
 Malveira (Intermarché)  Lisboa  Private  N 38º 56´27" W 09º 15´05" 
 Manta Rota  Faro  Municipal  N 37º 09´55" W 07º 31´14"
 Minas de São Domingos  Beja  Municipal  N 37º 40´17" W 07º 30´02"
 Mira Orbitur  Coimbra  Camping Park  N 40º 26´41" W 08º 47´53"
Miranda do Corvo   Coimbra  Municipal  N 40º 05´17" W 08º 19´56" 
 Mondim de Basto  Vila Real  Municipal  N 41º 24´33" W 07º 57´04" 
 Monfortinho  Castelo Branco  Municipal  N 39º 59´52" W 06º 52´42"
 Montargil Orbitur  Portalegre  Camping Park  N 39º 05´59" W 08º 08´42" 
 Monte Gordo  Faro  Camping Park  N 37º 10´48" W 07º 26´22" 
 Odemira (Intermarché)  Beja  Private  N 37º 35´59" W 08º 37´52"
 Oleiros  Castelo Branco  Municipal  N 39º 55´14" W 07º 54´50"
 Olhão (Intermarché)  Faro  Private  N 37º 01´54" W 07º 49´58"
 Pampilhosa da Serra  Coimbra  Municipal  N 40º 02´37" W 07º 56´39" 
 Pardilhó  Aveiro  Municipal  N 40º 48´04" W 08º 38´05"
Pedrogão do Alentejo Beja Parque de Campismo  N 38º 11´65" W 07º 63´60"
 Pereiro  Faro  Municipal  N 37º 26´45" W 07º 35´21"
 Pombal  Leiria  Municipal  N 39º 54´30" W 08º 37´47"
 Proença-a-Nova  Castelo Branco  Private  N 39º 46´08" W 07º 59´03"
 Proença-a-Nova (Intermarché)  Castelo Branco  Private  N 39º 45´04" W 07º 55´03"
 Rio Alto Orbitur Porto   Camping Park  N 41º 27´26" W 08º 46´25"
 Quarteira Faro   Municipal  N 37º 04´02" W 08º 05´14"
 Rapoula do Côa (Termas do Cró)  Sabugal  Private  N 40º 26´38" W 07º 02´36"
 Ribeira de Pena  Vila Real Municipal   N 41º 31´48" W 07º 47´01" 
Sagres Orbitur  Faro Camping Park  N 37º 01´22" W 08º 56´45"
Sagres (Intermarché)   Faro Private  N 37º 00´56" W 08º 56´28"
 Santa Cruz  Lisboa  Camping Park  N 39º 08´04" W 09º 22´29"
 Santo Amaro (Beduído)  Aveiro  Municipal  N 40º 46´13" W 08º 33´12"
 São João da Pesqueira  Viseu  Private  N 41º 09´05" W 07º 25´26"
 São Mamede  Leiria  Municipal  N 39º 37´22" W 08º 42´58"
 São Pedro de Moel Orbitur  Leiria  Camping Park  N 39º 45´29" W 09º 01´33"
 Sertã  Castelo Branco  Municipal  N 39º 48´01" W 08º 05´58"
 Sesimbra (Intermarché)  Sabugal  Private  N 38º 27´56" W 09º 05´52"
 Sitava Milfontes Orbitur  Beja  Camping Park  N 37º 46´47" W 08º 47´01"
 Soure  Vila Real  Municipal  N 40º 03´19" W 08º 37´35"
 Sta. Catarina da Serra  Faro  Private  N 39º 42´43" W 08º 41´48"
 Sta. Iria da Azóia (Intermarché)  Lisboa  Private  N 38º 51´06" W 09º 04´34"
 Tábua (Intermarché)  Coimbra  Private N 40º 21´49"  W 08º 01´29"
 Tavira  Faro  Camping Park  N 37º 08´10" W 07º 38´24"
 Vagueira Orbitur  Aveiro  Camping Park  N 40º 33´29" W 08º 44´43"
 Valado Orbitur  Leiria  Camping Park  N 39º 35´52" W 09º 03´22"
 Valverde Orbitur  Faro  Camping Park  N 37º 05´58" W 08º 43´03"
 Viana do Castelo Orbitur  Viana do Castelo  Camping Park  N 41º 40´44" W 08º 49´34"
 Vieira de Leiria  Leiria  Camping Park  N 39º 54´54" W 08º 57´00"
 Vila Nova de Barquinha  Santarém  Municipal  N 39º 27´28" W 08º 25´57" 
 Vila Nova de Milfontes Beja   Camping Park  N 37º 43´55" W 08º 46´58"
 Vila Real de Santo António Faro   Municipal  N 37º 11´57" W 07º 24´57"
 Vila Velha de Ródão  Castelo Branco  Municipal  N 39º 39´06" W 07º 40´21"
 Vilar Formoso  Guarda  Private  N 40º 36´55" W 06º 50´18"
Service areas map

Types of service areas:

  Muncipal      Camping Park      Private